That’s a Wrap. Sundance Winners Announced


The 2014 Sundance Film Festival has officially closed out with the final night awards and party. The 10-day indie film celebration was relatively tame outside of the insane crowds over the first three days. This was good news for true movie buffs as available seats could be found for most of the buzz worthy films after Monday.

Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally were on hand to host the Feature Film Awards Ceremony at the Park City Municipal Recreation Center tonight.

Here goes. Now, just because a movie won an award does not mean you’ll get a chance to see it in theaters. Look for these titles down the road on NetFlix, HBO, Hulu, YouTube and any number of distribution channels.

The U.S. Grand Jury Prize: Documentary

Rich Hill / U.S.A. (Directors: Andrew Droz Palermo, Tracy Droz Tragos)

The U.S. Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic

Whiplash / U.S.A. (Director and screenwriter: Damien Chazelle)

The World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary

Return to Homs / Syria, Germany (Director: Talal Derki)

The World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic

To Kill a Man / Chile, France (Director and screenwriter: Alejandro Fernández Almendras)

The Audience Award: U.S. Documentary

Alive Inside: A Story of Music & Memory / U.S.A. (Director: Michael Rossato-Bennett)

The Audience Award: U.S. Dramatic

Whiplash / U.S.A. (Director and screenwriter: Damien Chazelle)

The Audience Award: World Cinema Documentary

The Green Prince / Germany, Israel, United Kingdom (Director: Nadav Schirman )

The Audience Award: World Cinema Dramatic

Difret / Ethiopia (Director and screenwriter: Zeresenay Berhane Mehari)

The Audience Award: Best of NEXT

Imperial Dreams / U.S.A. (Director: Malik Vitthal, Screenwriters: Malik Vitthal, Ismet Prcic) — A 21-year-old released from prison, returns to his old stomping grounds in Watts, Los Angeles.

The Directing Award: U.S. Dramatic

Fishing Without Nets / U.S.A., Somalia, Kenya (Director: Cutter Hodierne, Screenwriters: Cutter Hodierne, John Hibey, David Burkman) — A story of pirates in Somalia told from the perspective of a struggling, young Somali fisherman.

The Directing Award: World Cinema Dramatic
Sophie Hyde for 52 Tuesdays / Australia— Sixteen-year-old Billie’s faces her mother’s choice for gender transition, and their time together becomes limited to Tuesdays.

The Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic

Craig Johnson & Mark Heyman for The Skeleton Twins / U.S.A. – Estranged twins realize the key to fixing their lives may just lie in repairing their relationship.

The Screenwriting Award: World Cinema Dramatic

Eskil Vogt for Blind / Norway, Netherlands

The Cinematography Award: U.S. Documentary

Rachel Beth Anderson, Ross Kauffman for E-TEAM / U.S.A. – Follows the lives of four intrepid human rights workers.

The Cinematography Award: U.S. Dramatic

Christopher Blauvelt for Low Down / U.S.A. —Amy-Jo Albany’s heart-wrenching journey to adulthood while being raised by her father, bebop pianist Joe Albany, as he teeters between incarceration and addiction in the 1970s.

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Musical Score –

The Octopus Project for Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter / U.S.A. – A lonely Japanese woman embarks on an impulsive quest to search for her lost mythical fortune.

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Talent – Justin Simien for Dear White People / U.S.A.

The Short Film Audience Award, Presented by YouTube, based on web traffic for 15 short films that screened at the Festival ( -:
Chapel Perilous / U.S.A.

The 2014 Sundance Film Festival screened 121 feature-length films from 37 countries and 54 first-time filmmakers, including 35 in competition. These films were selected from 12,218 submissions (72 more than for 2013), including 4,057 feature-length films and 8,161 short films. Of the feature film submissions, 2,014 were from the U.S. and 2,043 were international. 100 feature films at the Festival were world premieres.

Video of the ceremony in its entirety is available at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *